Archives: Events

North Pacific Yearly Meeting Annual Session

It’s official! The NPYM Executive Committee has decided that Annual Session 2021 will be held in an online format — similar to last year’s Annual Session, but better, after more experience with the medium. The core of Annual Session 2021 will be Wednesday through Sunday, July 14- 18, but some events will be scheduled over several preceding weeks. Contact: Dorothy Day secretary@npym.org

Willamette Quarterly Meeting

Willamette Quarterly Meeting will gather on May 22, 2021.

We will have worship, a business meeting, worship sharing and community night, all with plenty of breaks to move around.  You can participate in your own home.

Paradox of Preparation for a Quaker Gathered Meeting

THE GATHERED MEETING:
Online Ben Lomond Quaker Center program 2/26-28

Ben Lomond Quaker Center invites you to join Quaker scholar Stanford Searl the weekend of Feb. 26 to explore themes and challenges about the “paradox of preparation” for the Quaker “Gathered Meeting”.

Together, using a Quaker contemplative inquiry approach, we will reflect upon four main themes connected to spiritual preparation that emerged from a research project about the Gathered Meeting experience.

  • The letting go of the ego.
  • Forms of Prayer as preparatory practices.
  • Practicing Worship together.
  • Deeper Vocal Ministry.

We will explore these themes which were drawn from 55 research interviews with Friends about the Quaker Gathered Meeting. We will employ a contemplative, devotional approach together.

There will be a Friday evening welcome session, three 60-90 minute interactive presentations spread over Saturday, and a Sunday morning Worshipful conclusion.

“. . . (W)hat I experience in a Gathered Meeting is a form of communion of hearts and minds and spirits in the room – and a communion, not just with each other, but also with the Divine” (reflection from a New York Friend in the Gathered Meeting study).

ABOUT THE PROGRAM LEADER:
During the spring, 2020, Stanford Searl worked as the Carroll Research Scholar at Pendle Hill, completing fifty-five interviews with both Pastoral and non-Pastoral Friends, asking them about the meanings of the Quaker Gathered Meeting.

This is a Quaker Center ‘Pay as Led’ Program. Everyone is encouraged to attend regardless of ability to pay suggested program fees of $50-$150.

MORE DETAILS: http://www.quakercenter.org/the-paradox-of-preparation-for-the-gathered-meeting/

or REGISTER NOW: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSc8VdQ_MrPnvuBGQIEQ-qyMxrkPy5QUtUsgwGUNkDuauk5cng/viewform

PLEASE REGISTER BY FEBRUARY 24

Join the Quaker Center email list: https://mailchi.mp/763dd80b46b1/quakercenter-signup

March 2021 – Adult Education

March 2021 Adult Ed Class – Second Hour Agenda:

We will  discuss the Testimony of Stewardship of Money and Other Resources .

I suggest that as part of this discussion we look at Friends Journal, January 2011, pages 23-25, “Reparations: The Road from Savings to Giving.” Author, Elizabeth Oppenheimer. Click here to read article.


PLEASE NOTE:

In consultation with our Ministry and Pastoral Care Committee, Bridge City Friends Meeting will immediately discontinue all in-person gatherings of our faith community at our usual Sunday location, Architectural Heritage Center, 701 NE Grand Blvd., Portland, OR. This includes Meetings for Worship, Meeting for Worship for Business, Committee meetings, and all scheduled presentations for this month. When this threat lessens, we will announce our return normal schedule.

Please consult this site for updates and new announcements. This is obviously a very fluid situation, requiring constant vigilance and precaution. For more specific information or questions, please contact Laura Arcidiacono, Bridge City’s Clerk, clerk@dev.bridgecitymeeting.org.

To request access to our Zoom Meetings click here to fill out the request form.

Adult Education held on the 2nd Sunday of the month from 11:45 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

Zooming Song Circle

Saturday, February 20, 7 pm Join f/Friends in singing from Rise Up Singing and Rise Again in a song circle format, zoom-style! Have a song in mind to suggest when it’s your turn, either you or another singer can lead (everyone else stays muted, so all kinds of harmonizing can occur on your end.) Not quite the same as in-person, but it’s still singing with our friends! Hope to see and hear you there. Questions? Contact Chris Cradler fergler@comcast.net or Peter Ford conford4@gmail.com.

Adult Education – February 2021

Agenda for February 14, 2021

At the rise of meeting on the Second Sunday on February 14, 2021 we will finish reading and discussing Friend Brian Drayton’s blog post. Click here to read or download.

Should time remain following we will begin looking at and working through the second of the three parts of the Stewardship Testimony in our Faith and Practice — “Stewardship of Money and Other Resources” (pp 114 – 118).

A reminder: if you do not have a copy of the Faith and  Practice you can find it on the North Pacific Yearly Meeting web site at https://www.npym.org/?q=faith-and-practice


PLEASE NOTE:

In consultation with our Ministry and Pastoral Care Committee, Bridge City Friends Meeting will immediately discontinue all in-person gatherings of our faith community at our usual Sunday location, Architectural Heritage Center, 701 NE Grand Blvd., Portland, OR. This includes Meetings for Worship, Meeting for Worship for Business, Committee meetings, and all scheduled presentations for this month. When this threat lessens, we will announce our return normal schedule.

Please consult this site for updates and new announcements. This is obviously a very fluid situation, requiring constant vigilance and precaution. For more specific information or questions, please contact Laura Arcidiacono, Bridge City’s Clerk, clerk@dev.bridgecitymeeting.org.

To request access to our Zoom Meetings click here to fill out the request form.

Adult Education held on the 2nd Sunday of the month from 11:45 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

FWCC – Section of the Americas

WHAT IS THE REGISTRATION DEADLINE?
The deadline to register for the Section Meeting is February 28th. Registration is not complete until payment is received.

WHAT DO I NEED TO KNOW BEFORE REGISTERING?
Ready to register? Before you do, you need the following:

  • A valid email address (note that our system will only accept one registration for each email address)
  • The appropriate registration fee (see the section regarding cost)
  • Which of these two times you prefer for your home group meetings:
    • 8am Pacific, 9am Mountain, 10am Central, 11am Eastern on March 13th and 9am Pacific, 10am Mountain, 11am Central, 12 noon Eastern on March 17th and 20th.
    • 5pm Pacific, 6 pm Mountain, 7pm Central, 8pm Eastern on March 13th, 17th, and 20th.
  • Your top three choices for workshops (see the section on workshops)
  • If you would like to facilitate an Interest Group, a 90-minute opportunity to gather with other interested Friends to discuss a topic of mutual interest, you will need to tell us the topic and/or title.
  • If you would like to share music during the Section Meeting, either as part of a worship service or during our Festival of Music, you will need to tell us a bit about what type of music you would like to share!

Choose your payment method – online with PayPal or a credit card or by sending a check
Remember that your registration is not complete until we receive your payment! The registration deadline is February 28th.

Register here.

Friends World Committee on Consultation – Earth Care

Here is the call for the Earthcare event:

HOW DO WE SEIZE THE MOMENT TO PROTECT GOD’S CREATION AND LIFE ON EARTH?
Online, 8pm UK (12pm Pacific, 1pm Mountain, 2pm Central, 3pm Eastern)|February 27, 2021
27FEB2021

Please join us on February 27th for Quaker Conversation 8: How do we seize the moment to protect God’s creation and life on earth? with Susanna Mattingly!

Register using this link to receive the login information.

North Pacific Yearly Meeting Annual Session

Wednesday-Sunday, July 14-18

It’s official! The NPYM Executive Committee has decided that Annual Session 2021 will be held in an online format — similar to last year’s Annual Session, but better, after more experience with the medium. The core of Annual Session 2021 will be Wednesday through Sunday, July 14- 18, but some events will be scheduled over several preceding weeks. Contact: Dorothy Day secretary@npym.org